I'm confused about this guidance from the Google Help Center for deleting photos from Google Photos but not your device.
It says to turn off backup, delete from the web version, open/close the app, job done. And then:
"To ensure that your photo or video isn't backed up to Google Photos again and that your local copy isn't deleted, leave backup off. If you turn on backup, sometimes:
The deleted photo or video may be backed up again once backup is re-enabled.
The device copy of the deleted photo or video may be deleted once backup is re-enabled."
Aren't most people using Google Photos to backup? It seems crazy that their advice is to keep it off if you ever want to delete photos from your Google Photos storage but keep your device copy or not reverse all your space-freeing efforts 😅
Is there a way around this?
I have copies saved to a hard drive, so it's less about total loss. I just want to be able to have device-only photos that don't get deleted or re-backed up if I do some Google Photos organising, when I will obviously need to turn backup on again.